I have a pet dog

by karwalski

I have a pet dog. My dog is 15 years old. My dog does not have a name.

My black dog is not pet, it has followed me since I was a teenager and never strayed far from my side. My black dog is depression. I have never wrote about my depression, and I have rarely spoken about my depression; until now.

I visited my local GP earlier this year and told him I was aware of my depression, I had been handling myself over many years and that I had just come out of a stint of some darker days. I was cheerful and quiet relieved in discussing with he doctor, he seemed confused as I was in a happy mood and talking of a sadness. The GP probed and looked for specific triggers or events that started each depressive period. My GP gave me a sheet of paper to complete and return at a follow up appointment (K10 checklist), I guess I scored well and he advised no referrals required. I was satisfied as I believed I was able to manage for myself.

In this video ( https://youtu.be/XiCrniLQGYc ), they use a black dog to describe depression in a way I can associate with, a strong message and great coping techniques.

In this video psychiatrist and philosopher Dr Neel Burton ( https://youtu.be/ndsB37KUAso ) gives a different view of the depressive position, and highlights some of the great minds in history who had depression.

Could depression be a could thing for the mind? Allowing deeper thought and understanding.

Last year I attempted to raise $1 Million to purchase a sea vessel which would be dispatched to help asylum seekers attempting to reach Australia by sea. The project had a great start, and quickly reached over $20k of pledges. But something happened, I had paid advertising to reach ‘humanitarians’ on facebook, people who had liked organisations like Amnesty International etc. But the comments to these adverts were hhorrific such as calling for the death of the asylum seekers. The project failed to meet the $1M target, I had failed. It triggered a depressive position which lasted a couple of months. I had other hings going on in my life, but I had no emotions, I was lost without a solution to a major humanitarian crisis and it seemed like nobody cared for these human lives.

To be continued…

(This article was written on 20/05/2015, however first publicly published on 10/12/2015)

I have listed below Australian services that can assist you if you are suffering from depression.

Lifeline on 13 11 14

Kids Helpline on 1800 551 800

MensLine Australia on 1300 789 978

Suicide Call Back Service on 1300 659 467

